for violin

2006   13'   pub: Composers Edition

cherry blossom petals are falling

Beautiful like snowflakes.

The remaining rest do cling

Without knowing their destiny.

(traditional Zen saying)

Inspired by the Japanese ‘ma’, without explores silence as a dynamic force coming from and ending into sound.

Without was commissioned by Ensemble Omega and written for Utae Nakagawa. The world premiere took place at the Heidelberger Biennale für Neue Musik, in Germany, on 5th November 2006 and was performed by Utae Nakagawa.

For more information please get in touch